A Nonresident 1-Day Freshwater Fishing License is no longer valid in designated stocked trout waters.
A Resident 5-Day Freshwater Fishing License is valid in designated stocked trout waters with a Resident Trout Fishing License.
The cost for a nonresident trout license to fish in designated stocked trout waters has been reduced to the same price as a resident trout license ($23.00).
Fish Bait Information
As of July 1, 2021, salamanders can no longer be used as bait in Virginia. This action was taken to help restore and protect Virginia’s native salamander species, many of which are threatened or endangered.
DWR’s FishLocalVA initiative focuses on creating and maintaining quality fishing opportunities near population centers. Our website provides information on FishLocalVA program waters. The website also includes information on other outdoor activities and opportunities at these sites — so take the entire family and make a day out of it!
As a reminder, a trout license is not required to fish designated stocked trout waters during Free Fishing Days. A daily permit is still required to fish at Clinch Mountain, Crooked Creek, and Douthat State Park Fee Fishing Areas.
The Delayed Harvest section of Passage Creek (Warren Co.) will be closed (not stocked) due to construction at the Front Royal Fish Hatchery.
State Record Fish Program
New species were recognized, including white crappie, black crappie, bluegill sunfish, redear sunfish, saugeye, a category for all other sunfish, and goldfish (archery only).
White crappie, bluegill, saugeye, and other sunfish categories are currently open until qualifying catches are submitted and approved.
For qualifying minimum sizes and program rules, see page 56.
Online Angler Recognition Program
As of January 1, 2021, the angler recognition program went entirely online. Mail-in trophy fish applications are no longer accepted and trophy fish certificates are no longer mailed.
New species added to the Angler Recognition Program in 2021 include black crappie, white crappie, saugeye, fallfish, bluegill, redear sunfish, and other sunfish. For details on minimum lengths and weights see page 57.
A photo of the fish is now required for every application.
Virginia Boaters Guide: Engine Cutoff Switch
A new federal law requires that vessel operators of boats less than 26 feet use (attach to person) the engine cutoff switch when traveling on plane or above displacement speed.